IPTV Announces 2016-2017 Ready for School Communities

Posted: September 14, 2016

Education specialists work to strengthen math and literacy skills of young Iowa children

Iowa Public Television’s commitment to early childhood education continues with the expansion of its Ready for School initiative. Educational specialists will work with educators, parents, care providers and community partners in 17 Iowa school communities to implement math and literacy-based activities for children ages
2–8 years old.

“Iowa Public Television uses the power of technology and media to spark children’s curiosity and excite them about learning,” said Ken Harrison, director of Educational Services at IPTV. “Ready for School activities are designed to enhance early reading and math skills for young children. This roll-out to 17 new communities furthers IPTV’s efforts to serve families across Iowa with trusted educational content.” 

IPTV’s fourth year of Ready for School will focus on giving all children equal opportunity to succeed. IPTV will provide access to high-quality educational media resources including online games, instructional materials and educational activities that help children increase their school readiness and success. The multimedia content and related activities are based upon the work of educational children’s programming from PBS programs, such as The Cat in the Hat Knows a Lot About That!, The Electric Company, Odd Squad, Martha Speaks, Peg + Cat and Super WHY!

The program builds from the successful pilot testing of these methods and resources in Storm Lake, Perry and Waterloo that IPTV began in 2008. The initiative has been validated by scientifically based research funded by the U.S. Department of Education. Ready for School has been deployed in 75 other Iowa communities prior to this year.

The 17 Ready for School communities for 2016-2017 are:

Alta-Aurelia Community School District
Colfax-Mingo Community School District
Des Moines Independent Community School District (2)
East Sac County Community School District
East Union Community School District
Lamoni Community School District
Laurens-Marathon Community School District
Midland Community School District
Murray Community School District
Orient-Macksburg Community School District
Paton-Churdan Community School District
Pocahontas Community School District
Ruthven-Ayrshire Community School District
Tri-County Community School District
Twin Cedars Community School District
West Central Community School District