Iowa Public Television


Adult Learning Spotlight: DMACC

posted on February 5, 2014

Adult Learning Spotlight: DMACC

Adult Education and Literacy Programs at Des Moines Area Community College

The HiSET® (High School Equivalency Test) is an assessment of skills and knowledge comparable to those of a high school graduate and has replaced the GED® in the state of Iowa as the assessment tool used to award the High School Equivalency Diploma.

The HiSET® test is a series of five tests covering writing, science, math, literature and the arts, and social studies. These tests require the test taker to apply reading, math, language, and critical thinking skills. Tests are taken one at a time, and can be taken in any order, as long as writing and math are not last. Passing the HiSET® test series allows student to earn their High School Equivalency Diploma.

To meet the educational needs of all students, each site will offer classroom instruction covering all five areas of the HiSET®. Students are required to attend an orientation as well as the HiSET® class they are registered for. Classes are held several times per week over an eight-week cycle. ATTENDANCE IS MANDATORY!

The HiSET® classes are available to any adult who wants to improve their basic skills. Many adults participate in preparation for college placement exams or career training.

DMACC also offers adults the opportunity to earn high school credits to be applied toward the DMACC Adult High School Diploma.   The DMACC diploma is certified through the Iowa Department of Education and meets all state graduation requirements.  To be eligible for a DMACC Adult Diploma, a student’s original high school class must have graduated per Iowa Legislation.  After evaluating a student’s partial high school transcript, courses are identified to be applied toward the Adult High School Diploma. Students complete coursework in independent study centers at any of the DMACC campuses or through correspondence.

Non-credit ESL courses consist of multi-level English instruction for young adults and adults. The goal of the program is to provide quality ESL instruction to speakers of other languages so that they can succeed in academic, work, or career programs. The courses move learners from a beginner level to a solid intermediate level of proficiency. The classes cover the four skills of listening, speaking, reading, and writing as well as improving pronunciation and building vocabulary. The primary goal of the course is to teach communicative competence, that is, the ability to communicate in English according to the situation, purpose, and roles of the participants. The CASAS (Comprehensive Adult Student Assessment System) is used to appraise the students' English skills and to place them in the appropriate level.

To learn more about the Adult Education and Literacy programs offered at DMACC, visit our website at .

Tags: adult learning education educators GED teachers

Subjects: Adult Education


blog comments powered by Disqus

Comment Policy

Iowa Public Television encourages conversation and debate around issues, events and ideas related to program topics.

  • The editorial staff of Iowa Public Television reserves the right to take down comments it deems inappropriate.
  • Profanity, personal attacks, off-topic posts, advertisements and spam will not be tolerated.

Find out more about's privacy policy and terms of use.