JUNE 1, 2004

3:00-4:00 P.M.






I.                    Welcome and Introductions

The June 1, 2004, special meeting of the Education Telecommunications Council was called to order at 3:00 p.m. at Iowa Public Television and via the ICN.  The following members were present for roll call:  Chet Rzonca for Robert Barak, Board of Regents; Jim Bodensteiner, Board of Regents; Merv Cronbaugh, IACCT; Greg Davis, IASB; Mary Gannon, IASB; John Hartung, IAICU; Ellen Kabat-Lensch, IACCT; David Montgomery, DE/CIANS; Kathryn O’Shaughnessy, ISEA; Pam Pfitzenmaier, IPTV; Kay Runge, DE/Public Libraries; John O’Connell for Gail Sullivan, DE; Mary Travillian, AEA Boards, and Connie Maxson for Robert Vittengl, AEA Boards.  Al Bode, ISEA; Paul Bowers, IAICU; Dean Cook, SAI; and Tim Dose, SAI were absent.


The following guests were also present at roll call:  Judy Bonnstetter, Region 1 scheduler; Bruce McKee, RTC 2; Kitty Conover, RTC 3; T.J. Martin, RTC 5; Kathy Goebel, Region 5 scheduler; Dawn Fratzke, Region 7 scheduler; John Haack, RTC 10; Pat Thieben, RTC 11; Pam Southworth, RTC 13; Linda Abel, RTC 15; Mike Bacino, ICN; and Kathy Borlin and Debbie Fiscus, IPTV.


John Hartung made a motion to approve the agenda.  Ellen Kabat-Lensch seconded.  Motion to approve the agenda passed.


II.                  ISSUES

II.A.     Recommendation for RTC Funding for FY 05

Kathy Borlin, IPTV, gave an overview of the proposed FY05 RTC funding plan.  This plan was based upon the same funding formula as has been approved in the past few years.  The proposed plan was distributed to RTC chairs/coordinators and ETC members prior to the meeting. 


  1. The first document provided details of the funding received per region in FY 03 and FY 04, and proposed funding for FY 05

  1. The second document highlighted those regions that added or removed ICN sites
  2. The third document was the proposed funding plan for FY 05


Following Kathy’s overview of the documents, the following motion was made:





Greg Davis moved to accept and approve the RTC funding plan as presented.  John Hartung seconded.  There was no discussion from members or visitors. 


Ayes—14; Nays—0; Not Voting—0; Absent—4.  Motion passed unanimously.


The RTC funding plan for FY 05 will be submitted to the Iowa Public Broadcasting Board on June 9, 2004, for their approval.


III.                ADJOURNMENT

The June 1, 2004, meeting of the Education Telecommunications Council was adjourned at 3:20 p.m.  The next meeting of the ETC will be June 17, 2004, at Iowa Public Television.