June 17, 2004




The June 17, 2004, meeting of the Education Telecommunications Council was held at Iowa Public Television and various ICN sites.  The following members were present at roll call:  Robert Barak, Board of Regents; Al Bode, ISEA; Jim Bodensteiner, Board of Regents; Bruce McKee for Merv Cronbaugh, IACCT; Greg Davis, IASB; Mary Gannon, IASB; John Hartung, IAICU; Ellen Kabat Lensch, IACCT; Kathryn O’Shaughnessy, ISEA; Pam Pfitzenmaier, IPTV; and Mary Travillian, AEA Boards.  Paul Bowers, IAICU; and Kay Runge, DE/Libraries arrived late;  Dean Cook, SAI; Tim Dose, SAI; Gail Sullivan, DE; and Robert Vittengl, AEA Boards were absent.


The following guests were present at roll call:  Kathy Guilgot, RTC 1; Colette Scott, RTC 4; Kathy Goebel, RTC 5; Mary Emke, RTC 6; Dawn Fratzke, RTC 7; Wendell Maakestad, RTC 10; Pat Thieben, RTC 11; Cena Johnson, RTC 14; Dennis Yoshimura, AEA 11; Tami Fujinaka, ICN; Judy Jones, State Library; Steve Rheinschmidt, SECC; Laurie Adolph, EICC; and Debbie Fiscus, IPTV.


II.         REPORTS 

II.A.     Online Courses from the Community College Consortium

Mary Gannon introduced Steve Rheinschmidt of SECC who provided an overview of online courses that seven of Iowa’s community colleges offer through the Iowa Community College Online Consortium.  Steve noted that the other Iowa community colleges also offer online courses.  The consortium offers an associate of arts degree online, with approximately 150 different course titles and between 175-200 class sections online from semester to semester.  Instructors come from all seven community colleges in the consortium.  The consortium chose E-College as the delivery platform because the consortium found the main focus of E-College is to support fully online courses and programs. Growth in the number of class sections has risen 80% and student growth has risen 60% in the past year.  For those who are interested in what an online course looks like and how it functions, Steve suggested the following websites:; click on the “student services” link.  Also,; you can login there with the ID—1234, and the password is password.  This will provide a student orientation tutorial which gives an overview from the student perspective and will take an hour or so to go through.  Steve will provide a demonstration of online classes at the October meeting of

the ETC.  ETC members indicated an interest in seeing online classes offered by other educational institutions in Iowa as well at future ETC meetings. 


II.B.     Educational Classes Survey Results

Laurie Adolph of EICC provided an overview of the educational classes survey results for the 2002-2003 school year.  A copy of those results was sent to members prior to the meeting.  Changes/clarifications for the 2003-04 survey were discussed. 



III.A.    ETC Recommendation for FY 06 RTC Appropriation

Following a discussion of RTC appropriation history, members made a recommendation for FY06 funding to be presented to the Iowa Public Broadcasting Board in the following motion:



Greg Davis moved that RTC funding for FY06 be restored to the original FY 04 funding level.  Bruce McKee seconded.


Ayes—11, Nays—2, Not voting—0, and Absent—5.  Motion passed.


There was discussion among members and guests concerning an article in the Des Moines Register on June 13, 2004.  It was discussed that some type of response from the education community would be appropriate. 


III.B.    ETC Recommendation for FY06 ICN Educational Video Rates

Following a discussion of the history of ICN educational video rates, members made a recommendation to be presented to the ITTC for FY06 educational video rates.



Kay Runge moved that the ICN educational video rates remain status quo at the current FY04 level.  Al Bode seconded.


Ayes—12, Nays—1, Not Voting—0, Absent—5.  Motion passed.


III.C.    Election of ETC Chair for FY06

It was determined that there are three agencies that have not acted as Chair of the ETC--Board of Regents, SAI, and Department of Ed.  Following a brief discussion, it was recommended that Gail Sullivan be chair-elect for FY06 and a motion was made:



John Hartung moved to nominate Gail Sullivan as Chair-Elect for FY06.  Kay Runge seconded.  The motion was passed unanimously.



IV.A.    Legislative Review and Upcoming Elections/Legislative Session

Mary Gannon opened the legislative discussion with Tami Fujinaka providing an update on the sale of the ICN.  Tami stated that the government oversight committee would be looking at the sale of the assets issue in September. 


There was also discussion concerning the Vision Iowa bill, the Iowa Values fund, and the possibility of a special session. 


Mary Gannon asked Kathy Guilgot of RTC 1 to inform the members about their interaction with legislators in their region.  On December 8, RTC 1 members met with Rep. Chuck Gipp of Decorah, majority leader of the House, and Sen. Mike Connolly of Dubuque.  Statistical information was presented that highlighted growth of the ICN classroom use by authorized users.  Internet use was also highlighted.


It was strongly suggested that RTCs use the example of RTC 1 and set up regional meetings after the November elections with current and newly elected legislators in their regions to provide information concerning ICN video and internet use by their authorized users. 



IV.B.  Hand-off to New ETC Chair from Retiring Chair

Mary Gannon handed the gavel to the new chair, Ellen Kabat Lensch.  The members thanked Mary for her leadership as chair of the ETC for the past year.



Pam Pfitzenmaier commented on recent changes to the membership of the ITTC.  Mary Nelson and Mark Schouten have left the ITTC.  Mary’s term had ended and Mark has taken a position with the Supreme Court and is now a state employee of the judicial branch and as such is no longer eligible to be an ITTC commissioner.  Pam Duffy of Adel has been appointed  by the Governor to replace Mary Nelson.  She works for WellMark part time, is getting her doctorate degree, and utilizes the ICN for some of her classes.


Bob Barak has resigned from the ETC effective with this meeting.  One of his first memories as a Narrowcast Advisory Committee member was debating the use of fiber vs. existing telephone lines…(chuckles).  Replacing Bob as one of the Board of Regents members on the ETC is Chet Rzonca of University of Iowa.  Our thanks to Bob for many years of service as a member of the ETC and congratulations on his retirement!



The June 17, 2004, meeting of the Education Telecommunications Council was adjourned at 11:15 a.m.  The next meeting of the ETC will be October 21, 2004, at Iowa Public Television.