Sept 7, 2001


The September 7, 2001, meeting of the Education Telecommunications Council was held via the ICN from 3:15-4:15pm and the following members were present: Al Bode, ISEA; Jim Bodensteiner, Regents; Merv Cronbaugh, IACCT; Kathy Decker, IAICU; Mary Gannon, IASB; Paul Bowers for John Hartung, IAICU; Kathryn O'Shaughnessy, ISEA; Pam Pfitzenmaier, IPTV; and Mary Travillian, AEA Boards.

The following members were absent: Robert Barak, Regents; Dean Borg, IASB; Gene Gardner, IACCT; Gary Hayden, AEA Boards; Connie Maxson, SAI; David Montgomery, DE/CIANS; Kay Runge, DE/Public Libraries; Mick Starcevich, SAI; and Gail Sullivan, DE.

The following guests also attended this meeting: Stacy Gibb, RTC 14; David Ludwig and Ruth Husz, IWCC; Dennie Eitmann, RTC 13; Ellen Kabat Lensch, RTC 9; Kathy Guilgot, RTC 1; Steve Ovel, Kirkwood CC; Wendell Maakestad, RTC 10; Mike Bacino, ICN; Steve Timmons, Dept. of Management; Doug Wulf, Legislative Fiscal Bureau; Bruce McKee, RTC 2; Linda Abel, RTC 15; and Roger Rezabek, RTC 7.


II.A. Discussion of Proposed ICN Video Rates for FY 03

Mary Travillian, ETC Chairperson, opened the discussion concerning the proposed ICN video rates for FY 03 and asked Pam Pfitzenmaier to give an overview of past ETC responses to the ITTC concerning annual video rate review. Following a lengthy discussion, the following motion was made:

Mary Gannon moved that the ETC support the following:

a). An across the board increase in video rates of 5% for all authorized video users with the exception of the K-12 school and library use;

b). $12.20 per site/per hour for K-12 and library uses, assuming e-rate discounts are approved by the School and Library Division of USAC. Should those discounts for K-12 and library not be approved by SLD for any reason, the current rate of $6.10 per site/per hour should then be applicable. Al Bode seconded.

Ayes-8, Nays-0, Abstaining-1; Absent-9. Motion passed.

There will be further discussion on this issue at the September 20, 2001, meeting of the ETC.


The September 7, 2001, meeting of the Education Telecommunications Council adjourned at 4:00 p.m. The next regularly scheduled meeting of the ETC will be at 9:00 a.m. on September 20, 2001, at Iowa Public Television.


Education Telecommunications Council Minutes
/ Back to the Top