Iowa Public Television

 
Home Recipes Video Stories Tune In

Upcoming Episodes

  • Garlic (#202)

    The aroma! The flavor! All over the world, garlic has been prized for its culinary uses. Many Iowa farms specialize in producing numerous kinds of garlic from mild and muted to tangy and spicy .... TV-G Closed Captioning

    • Tue, July 22, 6:00 AM on IPTV Learns
    • Tue, July 22, 12:00 PM on IPTV Learns
    • Tue, July 22, 10:30 PM on IPTV Learns
    • Wed, July 23, 12:00 AM on IPTV Learns
  • Peppers (#308)

    From sweet and mellow to blistering hot, peppers take on a range of flavors. They’re easy to grow in Iowa’s fertile soil; you can freeze, can them, and they can be used in a variety of recipes.... TV-G Closed Captioning

    • Sat, July 26, 11:30 AM on IPTV
  • Herbs (#203)

    Herbs play a major role in culinary cuisine. From chives to mint, every herb helps add complexity to the aroma and taste of almost every dish. Join host Charity Nebbe as she learns more about some... TV-G Closed Captioning

    • Tue, July 29, 6:00 AM on IPTV Learns
    • Tue, July 29, 12:00 PM on IPTV Learns
    • Tue, July 29, 10:30 PM on IPTV Learns
    • Wed, July 30, 12:00 AM on IPTV Learns
  • Squash (#309)

    A cousin of the cucumber, and even the melon, the squash is a fall staple in many Iowa homes. On this Iowa Ingredient, join host Charity Nebbe to learn more about squash. We’ll visit Hawk Valley... TV-G Closed Captioning

    • Fri, August 1, 6:30 PM on IPTV
    • Sat, August 2, 11:30 AM on IPTV
  • Heavy Cream (#204)

    Rich, buttery, and essential for any number of dishes, heavy cream adds so much to so many delectable dishes. On her tour of Iowa farms, host Charity Nebbe takes in the sights of Picket Fence... TV-G Closed Captioning

    • Tue, August 5, 6:00 AM on IPTV Learns
    • Tue, August 5, 12:00 PM on IPTV Learns
    • Tue, August 5, 10:30 PM on IPTV Learns
    • Wed, August 6, 12:00 AM on IPTV Learns
  • State Fair Special (#311)

    If there’s one thing the Iowa State Fair is known for, it’s the food. From corndogs to turkey drumsticks, everyone has a State Fair food favorite. On this special episode of Iowa Ingredient, host... TV-G Closed Captioning

    • Fri, August 8, 6:30 PM on IPTV
    • Sat, August 9, 11:30 AM on IPTV
    • Fri, August 15, 6:30 PM on IPTV
    • Fri, August 15, 8:30 PM on IPTV
    • Sat, August 16, 11:30 AM on IPTV
    • Sun, August 17, 1:30 PM on IPTV
  • Eggplant (#205)

    With its mild flavor and range of uses, eggplant is a food for culinary inspiration. Find out how eggplant is grown at one Boone farm then join chef Nate Jiroutek from Zins Restaurant in Cedar... TV-G Closed Captioning

    • Tue, August 12, 6:00 AM on IPTV Learns
    • Tue, August 12, 12:00 PM on IPTV Learns
    • Tue, August 12, 10:30 PM on IPTV Learns
    • Wed, August 13, 12:00 AM on IPTV Learns
  • Chestnuts (#206)

    Rich in flavor and, unlike other nuts, low in calories, chestnuts are a popular cool season treat. Take a tour of Red Fern Farm outside of Wapello with host Charity Nebbe. The farm specializes in a... TV-G Closed Captioning

    • Tue, August 19, 6:00 AM on IPTV Learns
    • Tue, August 19, 12:00 PM on IPTV Learns
    • Tue, August 19, 10:30 PM on IPTV Learns
    • Wed, August 20, 12:00 AM on IPTV Learns
  • Blueberries (#105)

    Antioxident-rich, low in fat, and downright scrumptious, blueberries are the ideal treat. On her search for distinctive Iowa foods, host Charity Nebbe explores how blueberries are grown and used in... TV-G Closed Captioning

    • Fri, August 22, 6:30 PM on IPTV
    • Sat, August 23, 11:30 AM on IPTV
  • Strawberries (#302)

    Vibrant in color and sweet in flavor, strawberries are a quintessential treat. Before farm fresh produce was available year around in Iowa, strawberries were the sweetheart of summer. Join host... TV-G Closed Captioning

    • Tue, August 26, 6:00 AM on IPTV Learns
    • Tue, August 26, 12:00 PM on IPTV Learns
    • Tue, August 26, 10:30 PM on IPTV Learns
    • Wed, August 27, 12:00 AM on IPTV Learns
  • Black Walnuts (#304)

    Visit a neighborhood backyard in Iowa, and chances are pretty good that you’ll find walnut trees. On this Iowa Ingredient, join host Charity Nebbe to learn more about this local nut. We’ll visit... TV-G Closed Captioning

    • Fri, August 29, 6:30 PM on IPTV
    • Sat, August 30, 11:30 AM on IPTV

Past Episodes

View All Episodes