Welcome to Iowa Public Television! If you are seeing this message, you are using a browser that does not support web standards. This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device. Read more on our technical tips page.

Iowa Public Television


IPTV Announces GOP Debate

May 23, 2008

Iowa Public Television to Broadcast Republican Senate Debate LIVE Friday, May 30

Debate between George Eichhorn and Christopher Reed will be moderated by Dave Price

(Johnston, Iowa) -- Iowa Public Television today announced the network will broadcast a debate between candidates for the Republican nomination for United States Senate. The Republican Senatorial Debate will be broadcast live from Iowa Public Television studios Friday, May 30 at 9 p.m.

Moderator Dave Price, political reporter for WHO-TV in Des Moines, will pose questions to two of the three candidates seeking the Republican nomination to run against Sen. Tom Harkin (D-IA) this fall.

George Eichhorn, a Stratford attorney, and Christopher Reed, a Marion businessman, will participate in the debate. A third candidate for the GOP nomination, Steve Rathje, declined to participate.

The statewide primary election will be held June 3.

For more information about the debate, including media coverage, contact Jennifer Konfrst at 515-242-3146 or Jennifer.konfrst@iptv.org.

# # #


Iowa Public Television is Iowa's statewide public broadcasting network. IPTV provides quality, noncommercial programming to make a difference in the lives of Iowans. As one of the last locally controlled media enterprises in the state, IPTV is committed to telling Iowa's stories like no one else can. Our mission to educate, inform, enrich, and inspire Iowans enables IPTV to present an unequaled array of programs of lasting value to Iowans regardless of where they live or what they can afford. More than one million viewers a week turn to IPTV for programming that reflects a range of interests for Iowans in all demographic categories. Iowa Public Television stations include: Channel 11, Des Moines; Channel 12, Iowa City; Channel 21, Fort Dodge; Channel 24, Mason City; Channel 27, Sioux City; Channel 32, Waterloo; Channel 32, Council Bluffs; Channel 36, Davenport; Channel 36, Red Oak. IPTV-Digital stations include: Channel 11.1, Des Moines; Channel 12.1, Iowa City; Channel 21.1, Fort Dodge; Channel 24.1, Mason City; Channel 27.1, Sioux City; Channel 32.1, Waterloo; Channel 32.1, Council Bluffs; Channel 36.1, Red Oak; Channel 36.1, Davenport.

For immediate release:
May 23, 2008

For information contact:
Tonya Weber Dusold
Communications Manager
(515) 725-9705

« Back to IPTV News