Iowa Public Television


EPA Water Task Force to Work with Universities

posted on May 23, 2014

DES MOINES, Iowa (AP) — A task force established by the Environmental Protection Agency to curtail farmland pollution that flows into the Mississippi River has reached an agreement to work with 12 universities.

 The EPA says states collaborate with universities on local water quality research and agricultural programs but to date there is no formal process for sharing university research and ideas across the 12 task force states.

 The Mississippi River/Gulf of Mexico Watershed Task Force will work with Purdue University, University of Illinois, University of Arkansas, University of Kentucky, Mississippi State University and Ohio State University. Others include University of Tennessee, University of Missouri, University of Minnesota, University of Wisconsin, Iowa State University and Louisiana State University.

 The EPA says the new agreement brings additional expertise to help develop farm runoff reduction strategies.

Tags: EPA task force universities water