Welcome to Iowa Public Television! If you are seeing this message, you are using a browser that does not support web standards. This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device. Read more on our technical tips page.

Iowa Public Television


Burt Wolf: Taste of Freedom

The Importance of Ritual (#113)

Explore the evolution of holidays that occurred when America got its first taste of freedom. [25 minutes] Closed Captioning

This episode has not aired in the past few months on Iowa Public Television.

PBS Video

Series Description: BURT WOLF: TASTE OF FREEDOM is an exploration of 13 major American holidays and gatherings — and the history, folklore and rituals that have become central to those occasions. The series pays special attention to different ethnic groups and how they have brought their own traditions to the events. Taped on-location throughout the United States, Europe, Mexico and Asia, BURT WOLF: TASTE OF FREEDOM spotlights holidays and celebrations including, Thanksgiving, Hanukkah, the end of Ramadan, Christmas, Kwanzaa, New Year's, Orthodox Christmas, Chinese New Year, Valentine's Day, Carnival, Passover, Easter and Independence Day. Burt Wolf's straightforward style and slightly irreverent humor have made him a viewer favorite for many years. An award-winning journalist and author, Burt's previous series have included Gatherings and Celebrations, Local Flavors, Food for Thought, What We Eat and four seasons of Travels & Traditions.

View All Episodes »

All Upcoming Episodes

There are no broadcasts currently planned. Please check back for future broadcast dates.

View All Episodes »

« Back to Programs A-Z

- display sidebar --->