2015 World Food Prize

Oct 15, 2015  | 1 hr 15 min  | 2015

Iowa Public Television provided live coverage of The World Food Prize Laureate Award Ceremony at the Iowa Capitol Thursday, October 15. The broadcast will repeat Saturday, October 17 at 6 a.m. and 6 p.m. on IPTV WORLD (.3) and Sunday, October 18 at 1 p.m. on statewide Iowa Public Television.

The World Food Prize was founded by Nobel Peace Prize Laureate and Iowan Norman Borlaug. After winning the Nobel Prize in 1970 for his achievements in agricultural research, Borlaug envisioned a separate international award to recognize those who have made significant contributions to advancements in the quality, quantity and availability of food in the world.

The 2015 prize was awarded to Sir Fazle Hasan Abed, the internationally renowned founder and chairperson of BRAC (formerly known as Bangladesh Rural Advancement Committee). Under Frazle’s leadership of more than 40 years, BRAC’s agricultural and development innovations have improved food security for millions and contributed to a significant decline in poverty levels through direct impacts to farmers and small communities across the globe. The scale and impact of BRAC’s work in Bangladesh and ten other countries is unprecedented and has been hailed as the most effective anti-poverty organization in the world.